DAILY TRUST conceived the ‘African of the year award’ in 2008 with the motive of identifying and recognising ordinary Africans doing extraordinary service to the people of Africa in their chosen field of human endeavours.

Africa is indeed endowed with a great deal of people rendering selfless and exemplary service in their tiny places but have far reaching positive impact across the continent, yet they receive very little or no recognition in most cases.

While we welcome you to the ‘African of the Year’ award website, we want to assure you that your contributions to this noble course would go a long way in shaping the entire process of identifying the person that wins the prestigious ‘African prize’.

Thank You.

The Award

The ‘African of the Year’ is an annual event organised by DAILY TRUST, Nigeria’s leading newspaper as part of our contribution to Africa’s development, integration and cohesion.

Since 2008 when it started, the award had recognised six African personalities for their wonderful contributions to the well-being of people across the continent namely: Dr. Dennis Mukwege (Congo DR) 2008, Late Dr. Tajudeen Abdulraheem 2009, Mr. Danny Jordaan 2010, Mme Fatimata Bazaye 2011, Mr. Thabo Mbeki 2012 and Mr. Donald Kaberuka 2013.

The event has succeeded in entrenching not only the philosophy for selflessness among citizens but is also recognised as a veritable tool for enhancing regional co-operation in Africa.

Prize Committee

The prize committee is chaired by Dr. Salim A. Salim (former Prime Minister of Tanzania and ex-scribe of African Union, AU). Other members are appointed from Africa’s regional blocs.


  • 30 September
  • Nomination of individuals
  • for the prestigious award
  • came to a close.
  • 13 January (2016)
  • Presentation of US$50,000
  • prize and award plague
  • holds in Abuja.

The Unveiling

Unveiling of the Winner of ‘African of the year’ 2015

We are extremely excited with the number of nominations from our numerous followers.

Nomination has ended and the winner of the prestigious award will be selected at a 7- member prize selection committee meeting slated for Thursday, November 19 in Accra, Ghana. The meeting to be chaired by the Tanzania’s former Prime Minister would culminate in a news conference at 1600GMT to unveil the winner of the ‘Africa Prize’.

Please watch out.


Danny Jordaan

2010 Award night

Salifou Fatimata Bazeye

2011 Award night

Donald Kaberuka

2013 Award Night

Presentation of Prize Money

2013 Award Night

Thabo Mbeki

2012 Award Night

Dennis Mukwege

2008 Award Night

Thabo Mbeki's Acceptance Speech

2012 Award Night

Contact Information

Media Trust Nig. Ltd
20, P.O.W. Mafemi Crescent, Off Solomon Lar Way,
Utako District, Abuja, FCT
Email: award@dailytrust.com